Happy Oils for Happy Mothers Part One – Orange

Part One: Orange

Part Two: Forgiveness

Part Three: Harmony

This is the first of a 3-part series of oils for happy mothers that was done over the Let’s Add Oil FB group with Facebook Live. Original video link here!

orange

I was talking about celebrating Mothers’ Day and I thought it would be really cool to showcase some oils that I personally think are oils that made me happy as a mother. I’ve been a mother since 2012, and my first born, Juvia is 3.5 years old and my son, Sol just turned 1 last month.

When I first became a mother, I thought, “Wow it’s going to be great! I’m going to be this dedicated, loving mother!” Then I got into really being a mother I realised that it’s so different! There are times where I was driven crazy by my kids, and while my kids have taught me a lot about myself and I’m so appreciative of that, I also realised that as a mom, it’s really about having that kind of patience and endurance with my kids. Especially since I’m almost 40 years old and my kids are so young and they can outrun me and out energise me anytime.

The first oil I want to talk about is Orange. Why did I pick Orange? I find it very interesting that when we talk about taking oils in water, right, the favourite oil is Lemon. In fact, Lemon went out of stock and came back recently. So I think most people take Lemon in water, but I actually take Orange. I really like the smell of Orange, just smelling it perks me up and lifts my mood. To be really honest, before I came on to this broadcast, I was feeling sluggish and not in the best of moods, so I took a drop of Orange, rubbed it between my palms and just inhaled. Wow just the mere smell of it already perks me up and makes me really happy, energises and cheers me up.

Okay, let’s talk about the other usages of Orange. You may already know if you ever have a tummy upset after spicy food, or when your kids are getting used to solids from milk, they have constipation or even diarrhea and you have been using Digize or even TummyGize, but did you know that Orange is a very good oil for digestion as well? So if you find that you have ran out of Digize, or if it’s not with you, you can also try Orange. And to be really honest right, if you look at the price difference, I think for Singapore members right now, Orange is around SGD18 or something like that. And in terms of smell, I will definitely tell you that I like the smell of Orange a lot better.

If you find that you want your kids to sleep, of course there are great oils for sleep like Lavender, Gentle Baby, Peace and Calming, but one really good combination is actually Cedarwood and Orange. Some people find that Cedarwood smells like cats’ pee, but because Cedarwood does such a good job at promoting sleep, what you can do is to combine Cedarwood with Orange to mask the woody smell of Cedarwood. Or even Cedarwood and Lavender. I’ve tried Cedarwood with Orange and it is really really nice, kind like going into a fruity forest and smelling the really nice, juicy smell in the bedroom when you are drifting off to sleep.

If you are a mother and you find that you have been shouting at your kids, and your vocal chords are strained, you can apply Orange to relax your throat. This is actually a very good tip for parents, especially if you have cheeky kids like mine, running all around.

If you’re worried that your kid is a picky eater and doesn’t want to eat the food that you’ve cooked, Orange is actually an appetite booster as well. You can diffuse it in the dining room or you can rub it on their tummies to promote their appetites. Come to think of it, I always drink Orange in my water, maybe that’s the reason why I’m not losing any weight. Other good oils for appetite include Lemongrass and Spearmint, but if Spearmint is too minty, then use Orange.

If you find that your skin complexion is dull or oily, or if you want to hide your wrinkles, you can add Orange to your moisturiser to boost your skin. Any citrus oil is great for oil control and you can use it for wrinkles as well. So I know that one of the top favourite oils for skin out there is Frankincense, but if you’re on a budget, and you are looking for something cheap and good, you can try Orange.

Another thing is that, if you have body odour and you smell quite funky in the armpits, you can try Orange. I know that Lemon and Lime can help to lighten the armpit area but I’m not so sure about Orange but you can give it a try. I do know that as a deodorant, Orange works well.

You can also take Orange to maintain a healthy cholesterol level. The other thing to note is that Orange is a great booster for immunity. Google this word, “glutathione”, this is actually the mother of all antioxidants. I can’t really say any further what it does for compliance reasons, but Orange helps to support our bodies to produce glutathione.

Another to know is that Orange supports the liver and helps you to detox as well. So besides being known as a master antioxidant, it is also a great liver detoxifier. You apply it over your liver, which is on the right side of your tummy, just apply it like once or twice a day. It is especially good when we are stressed at work, when there is pollution in the air, and when we eat a lot of processed foods in our diet.

If you have water retention like me, if you have puffy fingers, you can try soaking in warm water with Orange. I generally prefer to take Orange in water to minimise the water retention.

Some people ask, “oh if I use Orange, will I be allergic to it?”.

One thing to note for all Young Living Essential Oils is, the chances of having an allergic reaction, like rashes from allergy is quite small. But I also want to say that for Orange and other citrus oils, is a bit different. Most oils are steam distilled from the plant, but for citrus oils, they take the rind, and cold-press it to get the oil. So in that sense, if you talk about Orange, it’s not a true essential oil because it is cold-pressed from the rind. So if you are allergic to orange the fruit, then you may want to avoid Orange essential oil. Same goes for all the citrus oils like Lemon, Yuzu, Bergamot, Grapefruit and Tangerine.

The last thing is that, once you open your bottle, finish it up within 2 years. It can actually evaporate over time and you shouldn’t be keeping your oils for 2 years lah, you should be using everything up. 🙂

 

QNA

When applying Orange on face, do I need to avoid sunlight?

Because Orange is a citrus oil, and citrus oils are photosensitive, when you are applying on the face, you want do so during the evening hours. If you’re doing it in the morning, you want to keep out of the sunlight for the next 12 hours, otherwise when you go out in the sun, the oils will make your skin darker. It’s not permanent, but you don’t want to get dark patches here and there. If you want to play safe, just apply your citrus oils on your face, or anywhere that is prone to sun exposure, in the evening and just go and sleep. You will be safe with that.

 

How many drops of Orange in water when you consume it?

My bottle of water is about 1 litre, so if you’re starting out, you might want to do 5 drops in 1 litre. You can go up to 10 0r 15 drops, it’s really up to you. I kinda do about 10 drops in 1 litre of water. You also want to make sure that before you serve yourself a cup of water, shake it. What happens is that, when you drip in Orange, after a while, the oil will float to the top, so if you just drink like that, you will be taking in all the oil at the top. If your lips feel a burning sensation when drinking citrus oils in water, it is a sign that you need to shake your water before you drink or use a metal straw.

Another thing is that because you are drinking water with citrus oils, you want to use like a metal, ceramic or a glass cup or bottle. Don’t use plastic. If you use plastic, what happens is that, over time, your plastic will blur and start to corrode. This is because citrus oils and other essential oils actually leech out the petrochemicals from the plastic itself and you don’t want to be drinking that.

—————-

If you like my articles and would like to purchase the Young Living oils, please drop me a message here or sign up here to purchase. 🙂 I would love to support you in using the oils for yourself and your loved ones.

2 thoughts on “Happy Oils for Happy Mothers Part One – Orange

Leave a Reply

